Keynote Speech 1
Date: Monday 4 June 2018
Time: 9:00am - 9:45 pm
Title: Wireless bioelectronics

Prof. Ada S.Y. Poon

Department of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University, USA

Prof. Poon received her B.Eng degree from the EEE department at the University of Hong Kong and her Ph.D. degree from the EECS department at the University of California at Berkeley in 2004. Upon graduation, she spent one year at Intel as a senior research scientist. Then, she joined her advisor’s startup company, SiBeam Inc., architecting Gigabit wireless transceivers leveraging millimeter-wave and MIMO technologies. After two years in industries, she returned to academic and joined the faculty of the ECE department at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. Since then, she has changed her research direction from wireless communications to integrated biomedical systems. In 2008, she moved back to California and joined the faculty of the Department of Electrical Engineering at Stanford University. She is a Terman Fellow at Stanford University. She received the Okawa Foundation Research Grant in 2010 and NSF CAREER Award in 2013. She is a Chan Zuckerberg Biohub investigator.

Keynote Speech 2
Date: Tuesday 5 June 2018
Time: 9:00am - 9:45 pm
Title: The past, present and future trends of Qi

Dr. Xun Li

Vice-Chair of Low Power Work Group and Medium Power Work Group, Wireless Power Consortium, USA

Dr. Liu received his B.S. and M.S. degrees in electrical engineering from Tsinghua University, Beijing, China, in 2001 and 2003, respectively, and the Ph.D. degree from the City University of Hong Kong in 2007. He joined ConvenientPower (HK) Ltd in Hong Kong in 2007 as Technology Manager. He is responsible for research, innovation and standardization of wireless power technology platform. From December 2008 to June 2013, he was also the Vice-Chair of Low Power Work Group and Medium Power Work Group in the Wireless Power Consortium which published ‘Qi’, the global wireless power standard in August 2010. The world first Qi-compliant product which was certified in September 2010 was designed and produced by ConvenientPower (HK) Ltd in which he is currently the Chief Technology Officer. Dr. Liu received 2009 IEEE Power Electronics Society Transaction Prize Paper Award for his publication on Optimal Design of a Hybrid Winding Structure for Planar Contactless Battery Charging Platform, and is the inventor/co-inventor of 16 issued patents.

Dr. Toine Staring

Senior Scientist, Philips Research

Dr. Toine Staring received his M.S and Ph.D. degrees in Physics from Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands, in 1988 and 1992, respectively.
He joined Philips Research in 1990 as a Research Scientist where he has been involved in studies of single-electron effects in GaAs/AlGaAsnanostructuresm, multi-wavelength semiconductor lasers, copy protection systems for optical discs, and wireless power transfer systems.  From 2008 he has been active as the lead technical editor and architect of the Wireless Power Consortium’s Qi Specification.  From 2013 he has taken up the same role in the WPC’s development of a cordless kitchen specification.  Moreover, he has served as specifications editor for the Zhaga and MD-SIG consortia between 2010 and 2016. In his career, he has been awarded over 40 patents and published several papers in journals and conferences.

Keynote Speech 3
Date: Tuesday 5 June 2018
Time: 9:00am - 9:45 pm
Title: Wireless Charging 2.0

Gordon Bell, Daniel Lawless and Neeraj Sahipal
(Energous Corporation)

Mr. Gordon Bell

Vice President of Marketing, Energous Corporation, USA

Mr Gordon Bell joined the company in September 2013 and serves as the Vice President of Marketing for Energous Corporation and is responsible for all outbound marketing efforts. Prior to joining Energous, Mr. Bell was President at Prosoft Engineering from 2001-2013. During Mr. Bell’s tenure at Prosoft, company sales grew by over 800% from best-selling products such as Data Rescue and Data Genius. Under Mr. Bell’s leadership, the company also successfully launched two new subsidiaries – JoeSoft and The Data Rescue Center. Prior to his experience at Prosoft, Mr. Bell was the Senior Sales Manager for PNY Technologies where he helped launch the 3D designer-level video card business to the existing PNY channel as well as set up and managed new strategic accounts. In 2001-2002, Mr. Bell held the National Sales Manager position for Elsa GMBH and managed all distribution throughout United States and Canada. He was responsible for $20 million annual revenue.

Mr. Daniel Lawless

Vice President of Regulatory Affairs, Energous Corporation, USA

Mr Daniel Lawless joined the Company in Jan 2018 and serves as the Company’s Vice President of Regulatory Affairs, responsible for global approvals of all WattUp products. Mr. Lawless previously worked for 15 years at Broadcom Ltd, most recently as Director of Engineering, Global Operations, where he was responsible for Regulatory, Operations Engineering and NPI program management for production and reference systems. Previous to Broadcom, Mr. Lawless held management and program management positions at 3Com Corporation, where he was responsible for global approvals of 3Com’s diverse product portfolio. Mr. Lawless has an extensive background in regulatory compliance, building regulatory teams, influencing standards organizations and leading approval campaigns for many first to market wireless products. He has served on the Board of Directors of the TCB Council and was Vice Chair of the WiFi Alliance Regulatory Task Group, driving policy changes and introducing new technologies.

Mr. Neeraj Sahipal

Senior Vice President of Product Marketing, Energous Corporation, USA

Mr Neeraj Sahejpal joined the Company in November 2015 and serves as the Company’s Senior Vice President of Product Marketing, responsible for all Product Definition and Product Management, Applications Engineering, Customer Engineering and all outbound engagements with Customers and Strategic Partners. Mr. Sahejpal also chairs the Uncoupled Working Committee (UWC) of AirFuel Alliance which was formed by merging PMA and A4WP. Mr. Sahejpal joined Energous in November 2014 from Broadcom where he was Director of Product Marketing. From 2009 to 2014, while at Broadcom, Mr. Sahejpal helped seed and scale the Wireless Entertainment connectivity business. From 2005 to 2009, Mr. Sahejpal held a senior marketing position at PMC Sierra. Prior to that, Mr. Sahejpal co-founded a wireless startup and held senior positions in ASIC design while working for Inkra Networks, NVIDIA and Oak Technology (now Zoran).

Prof. Paul Mitcheson

Imperial College London

Prof. Patrick Hu

University of Auckland, New Zealand

Prof. Udaya Madawala

University of Auckland, New Zealand